Kent Athletic Club Agenda Annual General meeting 2022 To be held at the Blythe Hill Tavern, Stanstead Rd, London SE23 1JB On Wednesday 2 November 2022 at 7.30

- 1. Notice convening the meeting
- 2. Apologies for absence
- 3. Minutes of the 2021 agm
- 4. Matters arising from those minutes
- 5. Reports for 2021-22
 - 5.1 Co-presidents'
 - 5.2 General Secretary
 - 5.3 Treasurer
 - 5.4 Any other reports submitted
- 6. Motions
 - 6.1 Changes to club rules

Each year the committee is required to look at the club rules. The following minor changes variously catch up on new situations that have evolved, or reflect comments from England Athletics comments on governance the current situation, rather than suggesting anything radically new.

Title

Change the title from *Rules* to *Constitution and rules* Reason: nothing else says constitution and this document is also that.

5. Committee

Give the committee powers to set up etc sub-committees. Add to the end of the first paragraph: *The committee may set up and dissolve sub-committees as it sees fit, and set their responsibilities, membership and duration* Reason: We don't have such powers but already have a sub-committee

5. Committee

Committee posts change *ex-presidents* to *three* ex-presidents Reason: Current arrangement is too elastic

6. Membership

Minimum age of members be lowered to children in school year 6 Reason: Will give up to a year of experience to those joining our U13 squad

8. Governance

Sentence 1 Change to *constitution and* rules Reason: consistency with Title, above

10. AGM

Pre-penultimate sentence.

Currently 'Each member shall have one vote at a general meeting, which can only be cast in person'. Revise to 'Each member shall have one vote at a general meeting, *parents may vote for members aged under 18*. Votes can only be cast in person *i.e. votes cannot be cast by a proxy'*

Reason: There is no provision for voting for juniors. The rules were written in pre zoom times and without this explanation it could be thought that those there electronically could not vote.

11. EGM

Pre-penultimate sentence

To become: Club members must be present in person or electronically to be eligible to vote ie votes cannot be made by a proxy.

Reason: this was written in pre zoom times and without this explanation it could be thought that those there electronically could not vote.

Proposed by the committee

- 6.2 Any others submitted
 - The joining fee is increased to £10 Reason: The joining fee is currently £5 includes a club vest. The increase will reduce the net cost to the club (last year £1300) of the subsidy.

Proposed by the committee

7. Election of committee

The committee is subject to re-election each year.

The 2021-2 and nominations for the 2022-3 committee is set out below. If you wish to stand for any of the roles, be they new or not, please put your name forward with a proposer and seconder by 10 October when the remainder of the agenda will be circulated.

The club is run by its members, but those that run it are a very small subset of our nearly 600 members. We work on the principle that the best approach is that small jobs are done by a large number of people. However it is worth noting that quite a few people (at least six) do multiple roles. It's in their interest and that of the wider club that these roles are spread more widely. Please come forward to help out.

Committee posts	2021-22	2022-23 nominations	proposer	seconder	notes
President	Vic Buck Len Reilly	(Vic Buck Len Reilly)	n/a	n/a	3 year appointment
Club Secretary	Dan Ansell	Dan Pettitt Amelia Pettitt	committee	committee	
Treasurer	David Devlin	David Devlin	committee	committee	

Membership	Bernie Hutchinson	Bernie Hutchinson David Devlin	committee	committee	shared duties
Juniors	John Barron	John Barron .5 vacant	committee	committee	shared duties
Social	Katie Rowland	Katie Rowland	committee	committee	
Coaching	Ted Aston	Dan Ansell	committee	committee	
Comms .5 x2	Amelia Pettitt Dan Pettitt	Amelia Pettitt Dan Pettitt	committee	committee	
Track men	Ian Ellwood	Ian Ellwood	committee	committee	
Track women	Vic Buck	Liv Shortland	committee	committee	
Road men	Chris Busaileh	Chris Busaileh	committee	committee	
Road women	Katie Rowland	Katie Rowland	committee	committee	
Cross country men	John Gilbert Dan Pettitt	Dan Pettitt Owen Hind	committee	committee	
Cros country women	Sarah Hanley	Sarah Hanley	committee	committee	
Welfare share x2 .5	Georgina Wiley Neil Gordon-Orr	.5 vacant Neil Gordon-Orr	committee	committee	
Track admin	Dave Morgan	Dave Morgan	committee	committee	
Ex presidents		Ken Pike	committee	committee	see website for those eligible
Posts without	Adrian Musson, Norman	Norman Fairbrass	committee	committee	
portfolio	Fairbrass, Denis Fairbrass	Joe Appiah Ted Aston			
Co-opted	Joe Appiah				

Non committee posts	2021-22	2022-23 nominations	proposer	seconder	notes
Trophies	Dan Pettit	Dan Pettitt	committee	committee	
Website js .5 x2	Norman Fairbrass Julian Gevers	Julian Gevers Norman Fairbrass	committee	committee	
Newsletter team	Comms managers plus Ronnie Haydon, Georgina Wiley, Jamie Stimson	Clare Oxlade Phil Marsden	committee	committee	
Records	Len Reilly	Len Reilly	committee	committee	
Vets men js .5 x 2	Julian Gevers Stuart Beaney	Julian Gevers Stuart Beaney	committee	committee	
Vets women	Nicky Hayes	Nicky Hayes	committee	committee	

Assembly league .5 x2	Richard Elliot David Devlin	Richard Elliot David Devlin	committee	committee	
Club championships	Vacant, then Jake Simmons	Jake Simmons	committee	committee	
Officials	Len Reilly	Len Reilly	committee	committee	
Ladywell 10000	Dave Morgan	post abolished			
Volunteers coordinator .5 x 2	Heather Castle Simon Allen	Jacqueline Armit Laurie Oliver	committee	committee	
Kit manager, vests .5 x2	John Barron Sophia Contino	John Barron Sophia Contino	committee	committee	
Health and safety		Amelia Pettitt	committee	committee	new post
Social media		Anna Delis	committee	committee	new post

- 8. Election of auditors
- 9. Any other business (notified before the beginning of the meeting)