Skip to content

Track Athletics

Kent AC has a dedicated group of athletes who focus on track and field athletic events including sprinting, jumping and throwing.

There are two locations where track & field coaching/training takes place.

Crystal Palace: A number of our Senior track & field athletes train at Crystal Palace where there are both indoor (winter) and outdoor training facilities. 

Ladywell Arena: The adult sprint group based here is coached by Juno Field. He currently holds 3 sessions per week on Tuesday’s, Thursdays and Sunday’s for adults.  This is the core adult sprinter group for the club and is supplemented by those athletes that train at Crystal Palace.

There is a growing junior track & field section of the club. See juniors.

Training group description and criteriaDaysContact
Crystal PalaceBy AthleteJoe Appiah
LadywellTue/Thur & Sunday 
Juno Field


Southern Athletics League (SAL) 

The Southern Athletics League is the area track and field league for clubs in the SEAA region with joint male and female teams. The League started in 2011, and 2016 was the first time that Kent AC took part. The league structure includes a Division One, two Division Two’s (east and West) and three sub-regional Division Threes. The Southern Athletics League provides Kent AC members with some enjoyable days out and a whole range of competitive opportunities across a full range of track and field events. Events include the 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m, 3000m, 5000m track races, 110m and 400m hurdles, 4x100m and 4x400m relay as well as discus, high jump, long jump, javelin, hammer and shot putt. The Kent AC presence at these events is growing each year.

Club Championships

Club Championship awards can be given to first or second claim members. (The men’s one-mile Trophy is not a Club Championship) No prize or award shall be given to any member who is indebted to the Club. Female members may compete and be eligible for awards in male championships but not vice versa. Juniors and under 17 men may compete and be eligible for awards in Senior men’s championships. The Committee shall decide the dates, venues, and events that will form Club Championships, and also decide on the form of the award.

A minimum of 2 starters is needed for any awards to be made in all Club Championships. Unless the winner achieves the club standard where applicable (to be available prior to the event) then no awards will be made.

Awards shall be made as follows:

2 – 5 starters1st place only
6 – 8 starters1st and 2nd place
9 or more startersFirst three places

Any member who achieves the ‘medal standard’ and who finishes in 2nd or 3rd place will receive an award irrespective of the number of starters.

Dates for 2023

Kent AC 3000m Champs TBCLadywell Arena
Kent AC 800m Champs07/05/2313:00Ladywell Arena
Kent AC 1,500m Champs TBCLadywell Arena
Kent AC 5,000m Champs TBCLadywell Arena
Kent AC 10,000m Champs TBCLadywell Arena
Kent AC 5k Champs TBC
Kent AC 10k Champs TBC
Kent AC Half Marathon Champs TBC
Kent AC Marathon Champs23/04/2310:00 London Marathon

Other events the club supports:

  • Regional, Gold standard races, Oxford, Solihull, Eltham, Watford. 
Wimbledon Park 1 MileMAY – tbc7:00 PMWimbledon
Kent T&F ChampsMay – tbc10:00 AMJulie Rose Stadium Ashford
Fast FridayTBC7:00 PMOrion Harriers
Kent 10,000M ChampsTBC7:00 PMDartford
Hercules 3kmTBC7:00 PMWimbledon
HH Night of PBsTBC7:00 PMHerne Hill
MK 5000TBC7:00 PMMilton Keynes
Wimbledon Park 5kTBC7:00 PMWimbledon
JP Morgan Corporate ChallengeTBC7:00 PMBattersea Park